South University class starting January 2015

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I wont share my exact stats but I will say that I am above the minimum required GPA, but below the average accepted GPA. 4.0 post bac GPA for 22 credits. GRE score is average for accepted students. I was a student who did much better my last two years of undergrad than my first.

I have good experience in many different areas of healthcare, good references, and spent a lot of time on my narrative, which I feel and was told was strong. 

I am a re-applicant. 

That's great to hear! I'm still waiting on hearing back from South. I feel I have a competitive application going into this cycle as I am a re-applicant also however this will be my first time applying to South. My GPA stands at 3.52 with over 2500 hours of HCE and strong references however my GRE score stands at a 301 composite score. Does anyone know if this is competitive enough or should I retake it?

I believe since your GPA and HCE are high you shouldn't worry about your GRE scores as much. My overall GPA is 3.43 and GRE is 303 with a 4.0 in writing. My HCE are around 350. I have strong recs and a strong personal narrative. I believe I'm a pretty average competitor, the only thing that stands out for me is I'm 20 years old which can either give me an edge or really hinder my application

@ardavis

I wouldn't be discouraged. A lot of programs like students who are a little older and have had a chance to "live". The programs want to know that you're in an appropriate place in your life where you can devote 100%. I think your stats are very competitive but your young age could be a negative factor at some places.

@ardarvis, were you contacted by phone or email stating this? I was just wondering because I have yet to hear anything back from the university! However you do have A LOT to offer at such a young age. I wouldn't be surprised if you were to get in next year with more HCE under your belt!