how many schools should I apply to?

Hello all!

I'm a pre-pa student and will begin submitting my applications in the Fall (2014) after I'm done with my summer course. I have a little over 900 hours of HCE as a nurse assistant, and I'm still working on obtaining observation hours and taking my GRE (my summer will be pretty hectic but i'm excited). My question is how many PA programs should a student apply to? I hear how competitive PA programs have become so I plan to apply to 10 schools. I'll be applying to schools in-state and out-of-state. My mother thinks that that's absolutely ridiculous and thinks I should just apply to 5 schools ( 3 in state and a couple out of state). She thinks that my choosing to apply to so many schools means that I'm not confident in myself and don't think I'm smart enough to get into any school I want to (and I would agree LOL).

I live in Dallas, so she wants 2 out of the 3 in-state schools to be SMU and Baylor...schools that are hard for even the smartest to get into! I don't want to "doubt myself" but I know that just applying to SMU and Baylor and expecting to get in is kinda..uh..stupid for me to do even if i had a 4.0 gpa (which I definitely do not have).  I want to apply to 10 to give myself the best chance of getting in somewhere the first time around. Its not like I can apply to 5 schools in the fall, get rejected but get in somewhere the following Spring semester. If i'm rejected from the 5 schools she wants me to apply to, I'll be waiting for an entire year to try to get in again and I cannot afford that risk. I've already been out of school and living home for a year and I'm ready to get out and achieve my goals. What do you all think? Is applying to 10 schools really absurd?