Newly accepted PA student, what to pre-study?

Hello,

I am a newly accepted PA student for one of CA's fine schools! I wanted to know what some PA students or PAs currently studied prior to school, or wish they had studied (haha). I have already looked over anatomy/physiology and medical terminology. I have free time so I want to use it wisely. THANK YOU! 

I am in the same boat. You may want to contact the students in the program you are accepted to and ask what their first big exam was on. I know for my program it's dermatology, so I am spending time on that. I have the latest edition of Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine so I am using the same text that my program uses.

I know many will say to enjoy your free time and take a vacation, which I agree with, but there's nothing wrong with spending a few hours to prep.

• Administrator

Med term and A&P are two excellent choices.  The rest often depends on your program emphasis, weaknesses you want to shore up (e.g., only took one psych course years ago), or strengths you want to be sure to bring to the school with your 'A' game (e.g., working Paramedic for years, make sure you have even the odd EKG stuff down cold).  There are a thousand answers, depending on what you want to accomplish.

I am in the same boat. You may want to contact the students in the program you are accepted to and ask what their first big exam was on. I know for my program it's dermatology, so I am spending time on that. I have the latest edition of Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine so I am using the same text that my program uses.

I know many will say to enjoy your free time and take a vacation, which I agree with, but there's nothing wrong with spending a few hours to prep.

Looks good ... Thanks for the suggestion Mr E  QYvsQ4t.gif

Relax.  Do something fun that you might not have time to do soon.  Make it memorable.