Help! wRVU salary for new grads 1st job??

I am a recent grad and have a job offer through a hospital that is heavily based on wRVU's. I have been researching the whole wRVU thing and still don't feel totally comfortable in understanding all the detais about it. I am a recent graduate and don't want to go into anything (i.e. sign a contract) that may come back to haunt me in the future.

The job is with an orthopedic practice that is affiliated/part of the hospital. I would be working with an orthopedic surgeon  much like I would be if I were at an ortho practice without the hospital affiliation, roughly 2 days assisting in the OR and 3 days in clinic. Call is every 1 in 8 days, so about 4 days per month.

The job highlight details are:

- 3 year contract term

- Base salary in Year 1 of the greater of $85,000 or $46.67 per wRVU

- Year 2 & 3 salary is production based at $46.67 per wRVU

- wRVU target for Year 1 of 1,821.30

- $1,500 stipend for CME expenses and 5 days for CME activities

- $500 stipend for licensing, dues, subscriptions, and memberships

- Medical, dental, vision, 401(k) and many other standard benefits

- 6 paid holidays per year

- Accrued vacation, sick, and personal time

What I don't like as a new grad, is that Year 2 & 3 of the contract there is no guaranteed base salary and it is totally on production/wRVU's. In my research, I know that there are a lot a variables to consider with wRVU production based salary. I realize that sometimes, in some systems, the PA is rendered invisible with their work and work they pergform can be placed under the Dr.'s NPI#. I don't want to get screwed here. I also know though, that if you have a fair opportunity and actually work hard, that you can be rewarded nicely with the wRVU model.