No Direct Patient Experience, Please respond

Hello Everyone,

I am applying this summer 2014 for several Pa programs.   I have almost fullfill all the requirments.  I hava BA in Biology wiht 3.5 GPA, I have taken all the necessary prerequisites courses. I recently took the GRE , I am working on my personal statment and I can secure excellent recomendation letters from my previous professors,and my health care superviosr.

I am volunterring at Prince William Medical center/ Emergency Room . I have nearly 200hr of Indirect Patient Experience. I am hopfully will start shadwing a PA for about 4 weeks.

Nevertheless, I have no Direct patient experience. I work full time and I had to support my family. Hence , I was not able to dedicate any time for this purpose. I really want to apply this year cycle and I am really afraid that I do not get accepted .

please let me know if there are still chances for me to get in the Pa program, regradless, the lack of direct pateint experience.

your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Respectfully.

Guest RainbowUnikittyPAC

I was offered interviews at three programs and accepted at one without direct clinical experience. It can be done, just depends on the program and what other things you can bring to the table.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Guest RainbowUnikittyPAC

There are some programs where the hours required are defined differently. I would spend time carefully reading program websites and then calling the programs to double check what they require. Some schools specifically state that their hours MUST be clinical, where others may consider hours working in a medical setting but not directly with patients. You need to just do your homework and look at each program individually for yourself, since requirements may change year to year.