I've said before that insurance companies need much better education about PAs.  Yesterday I had a conversation with a major insurer after they removed my listing from their directory.  First they point out that they have removed all PA listings, but have left the NP listings. The reason?  Because PAs are not providers. They assist providers. NPs are providers. They consider PT, Massage Therapist as providers too. Their directory is called the "Provider Directory."  I've been fighting with these people for three years.  This is a nationwide decision. I'm exhausted with these battles and will not take this one on.  There needs to be someone bigger than me to educate them.  We will soon see NPs paid at 100% of MD rate and PAs paid at 85%.  This will greatly de-incentize hiring of PAs over NPs.  

I find these things very frustrating. It hurts my practice. It hurts patients who can not find me and needs my care. It makes us get paid less because when we bill them, it is harder for them to find me to pay me.

I often get this overwhelming feeling that no one really gives a damn about how we are perceived.

And also, greetings from Istanbul.

Guest Paula

@JMJ:  Please send this to AAPA.  I know you are exhausted and AAPA has not always responded to you.  We need this information to present to the HOD so we can get the collaboration resolution passed.  These real life experiences may help us.