Primary Care,need advice

Hello all,

I am a new grad I have been offered two positions and can not make mind and was wondering if anyone with experience can help me decide:

1) Family medicine practice, full time, $43/hrs, 8-5 M-F,on-call for entire week every 6 weeks.Benefit package includes medical& dental insurance, $1000 CME and 10 days vacation, 10 days sick (all after 11 months working), pays for DEA, future licence renewal, no time off for CME just money,Very busy clinic.Room for salary increase in 6 months, currently pays $55/hr to experienced PA

2)Primary care clinic, full time, $38/hr,8-5 M-F, no calls, no weekends, Benefit includes medical and dental, 403 retirement, $1000 CME with one week off, 12 days vacation, 12 days sick, DO NOT pay for DEA or licence renewal, not as busy as the other clinic. qualified for loan repayment plan for $50000 for 2 years service.They promised for 10-15% salary increase in few months. 

I can not make my mind, the second place is where my heart is because it is underserved community, and I did my rotation there however the salary is lower than the first one and I don"t think there is a lot of room for increase.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestion.

Best.

go with #2. you get loan repayment and are doing what you want to do and no call....loan repayment is huge...think of it as salary when you compare the positions....an extra 25k/yr is basically an extra 12.50/hr you won't be paying back in loans...no brainer really.

• Administrator

Call every six weeks.... let's see, at 10K per year difference for 9 weeks, that's about $1,100 to NOT be on call for a week.  If call is 29 hours aditional work per 7 days, you're breaking even. Any more than that, and your higher paying job ends up COSTING you money.  Well, time, really, but time is money...