Remuneration advice

Hi all,

I am a PA in Ontario, Canada and have been offered the chance of a part-time position at an urgent care clinic on weekends (I do full time FM during the week). I have a few years of EM and FM experience and think I could do well there. Since PAs are new here and no standards really exist I have been asked by the clinic owner how and what I want to be paid. He has 2 docs on at a time and they bill the Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP) $32/pt plus extra billing for procedures etc., etc. 25% of the doc's billings goes to the clinic. My initial idea was I should be paid a per-centage of the total billing but he says no, because he does't want to take from what the MDs are billing. So what/how should I suggest I be paid? I told him I would email him by tomorrow with an answer.

not sure how Canada works but who pays for malpractice?

this is an ignorant question but is the Canadian dollar worth the same as a US dollar ? I believe it is

Sounds like you are getting paid 32 $ an hour to have no weekend. What procedures would you be doing ? Maybe 1 abscess a shift .... or casting ....  Most visits will have no procedure involved. Very low salary. Ask for 42 and procedure bonus.

Urgent care PAs (at least in my home state) are paid fairly well, typically better than FM and slightly less than EM.  A typical salary is 90-95+K a year with malpractice and full health benefits coverage.  In areas that don't pay as well even a new grad should still be making at least 80K.  This is all in USD.  Many positions require 1-2 weekends every month and otherwise either do five 8 hr shifts, four 10s, or three 12s.