Hi everyone! I am preparing myself early for o'chem and was wondering if anyone of you could make some recommendations in how to study o'chem? Tips, tricks, books etc JA5y0mR.gif

I'm an orgo chem tutor (among several other courses). All of my students who use Klein's "Organic Chemistry as a Second Language" do way better than those who don't.

http://www.amazon.com/Organic-Chemistry-As-Second-Language/dp/111801040X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1392532681&sr=8-2&keywords=organic+chemistry+as+a+second+language

I didn't use any particular tricks besides time spent on studying. But, what helped me retain the information is to dwell on it during off times such as while I'm sitting in traffic, waiting for a cafeteria chef to cook me lunch, or in my near-daily jog.

I'm an orgo chem tutor (among several other courses). All of my students who use Klein's "Organic Chemistry as a Second Language" do way better than those who don't.

http://www.amazon.com/Organic-Chemistry-As-Second-Language/dp/111801040X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1392532681&sr=8-2&keywords=organic+chemistry+as+a+second+language

I hope this is not inappropriate in asking, but where do you live?

I second the masterorganicchemistry.com website, it was very helpful.  I also bought the book, Organic Chemistry for Dummies and it helped as well.  Good luck!

Organic Chemistry as a Second Language is good as well, but once you get into mechanisms Sn1/E1, etc. I didn't find it as helpful. I would say some of the most critical things to keep in mind with O-chem is staying ahead of the material and thinking about WHY something reacts the way it does, versus sheer memorization. If you have any more in depth questions feel free to PM me.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.