Emergency Medicine Interview

I'm a recent graduate and I have an interview coming up very soon for an emergency medicine position.  I wanted to hear from some people who have been through EM interviews so I can get an idea of what to expect, especially as a new grad.  I have been on interviews for other specialties in the past and I have been pop quized with clinical scenarios and "how would you work up this patient" type questions.  They were totally unexpected at the time and completely threw me off.  Has anyone had a similar experience in EM?  What type of questions were you asked?  Thanks, your help is much appreciated.

Yes, I was "pop quizzed" when interviewing for EM jobs, at every single one of them.

It makes sense because if you don't know how to work up a chest pain or the differential diagnosis for shortness of breath, or even abdominal pain, then you're not ready to work in EM.

Now, I don't mean you have to know and do everything perfectly, but you presumably did an EM rotation, so be prepared to at least have some thoughts on DDx and testing/treatment of the most common complaints in EM.

They might catch you off guard, but EM is all about catching clinicians off guard! You have to know how to think on your feet, don't freeze, work as a team, and don't get tunnel vision.

I have regularity interviewed applicants over the years.

While I have almost never hired a new grad ( exactly two in maybe 30+ years as a hire fire guy), I always slip a couple standard scenarios into the process.

The reasons are simple: regardless of your credentials, I want to know how you think.

I really do not care how passionate you are or how you feel about issues, I want to know if you can take a set of facts history and labs), and generate a differential diagnosis, and whittle that list down into probabilities versus possibilities.