If some experienced PA's could help me out? I am deciding between PA schools of which one is a masters program and one is a certificate program with optional online masters of medical science. I originally thought the masters program was the obvious choice for me, but after speaking with some other health professionals the question was proposed. Do I need it?

I am a certified athletic trainer and have a masters of kinesiology in sports medicine. Gaining the PA-C from a certificate program, would my previous masters degree hold any weight when applying for jobs, or if the standard moves to requiring PA's to hold masters degrees. I will most likely gravitate towards orthopedics.

To me the PA program in the "degree", the extra 4 online classes seam a little like formality and an extra $9000+. Considering I've done a full 2 year program with teaching assistantship, thesis, etc.

Thanks for any advice.

I'm not sure that I would feel comfortable only obtaining the certification.  I defer to Primadonna readily on how this has been viewed in the past and possibly currently.  But with our impending degree creep (to the doctorate), I would feel a bit anxious about entering the workforce with only a certificate at this stage.  But who knows, could be completely OK.  Just seems risky to me.

Incidentally, I have a MS in Kinesiology as well, and I'm currently in my first year of a PA program that offers a masters.

Good luck with your decision.

If you're established in your community, have no plans to move, your state does not require a masters specific to PA studies and you're comfortable with going for the certificate program based on your current masters degree then there shouldn't be too big a problem with it.

If your future living arrangements are uncertain or you could see yourself moving in the future, potentially to a state that requires a PA related masters degree, then it might be worth it to get it now while you're doing the work.