Hi all,

I became an EMT when I was 16, and I am now a sophomore at my undergraduate college.  Most of my EMS experience has been volunteer (aside from a few temporary paid opportunities).

I was wondering how I should count my total hours of "prior healthcare experience..."

As for my volunteer hours:

• Can I count the total number of hours I was on duty?  Or can I only count the hours that I was actually interacting with PTs? 

For my paid hours:

• If I was paid for a certain number of hours as an EMT, can I count all of those hours towards the HCE requirement?  Or only the hours that I had direct patient contact?

Thanks for helping out guys!
-Steve from NJ

The second you clocked in, wether it was paid or unpaid, you're now accumulating HCE. There's no way you'd be able to write down the exact minute you got the call and the exact second you began working with a patient, this would turn into a nightmare for CASPA and countless applicants trying to sift through the exact details of your specific hours. By all means, do not lie but do not go insane with sorting which exact minutes you were touching or talking to a patient, lump it all into one chunk of HCE. At your interviews, they'll invariably ask about your HCE at which point you can enchant them with your tales of specific patients and calls, but don't worry about that so much with CASPA.