My background is as a FF/Paramedic. As a PA-S1, I'm digging the material big time. However, it's been harder than I ever thought to leave the fellas and the job.

Anyone else here experience this? On the other end (in practice) are there medical settings that have a similar espirit de corps?

Thanks.

I know what you're saying. I still ride with my old unit a few times a month for just that reason after 7 years as a PA. 

I haven't found exactly the same thing, but you do build up a lot of friends in the hospital setting. People start counting on you and you on them, which is at least a part of what you may be looking for. I look for opportunities for people to teach me things and visa versa. You can choose to be straightlaced and aloof, or you can just be yourself and enjoy the company of others.

I'm kinda coming back around full circle on EMS.  I had a state certification EMT-B that I let lapse once I became a PA; now that it looks like I'll be moving back "home" next summer, I'm probably going to take an EMT-B class and get it back- I think I'm ready to get back into EMS in some very small capacity and go from there.  It'll just be fun to sit in a basic class and do rotations - especially the hospital portion- and try to go as long as I can without telling people what I do for a living

Surgery had the same team cohesiveness I found in the back of the ambulance.  But nothing replaces the ambulance 100%.  That's why, as others have said, I keep doing it.  And it's worth it - I have opportunities to make a difference in the back of the bus that I don't anywhere else.  Then again, I work in UC.