Personal story of getting to, through, and beyond PA school

I came to college as a 58 year-old physician assistant student in a class of people less than half my age. The career change from engineering had been gradual, starting when I first blundered into medicine in my late 30s as a hospital volunteer. Later, after a 4 month night EMT course, I began volunteering with a local rescue squad. I eventually realized that I enjoyed medicine more than engineering.

One day, a young member of our squad asked me to write a letter of recommendation in support of his PA school application. Up until then, I hadn’t known that the profession even existed, but I eventually decided to follow in his footsteps. For the next seven years, while my children finished their own college degrees, I was a management consultant by day and a community college student by night.

Within my first few days on campus, I came to realize that I actually had three goals. The first was to honor the years of preparation by becoming a physician assistant. The second was to stay connected with my family and our friends back home. And the third was to re-experience the life of a college student, at least to the extent that someone my age could go back in time. From the beginning, I knew that this would be a magical time in my life. I started keeping notes so that one day I could write a book about my experiences, which is how Old Man on Campus (available through Amazon) got its start.

I learned important lessons along the way. First, you can start something new without abandoning your primary job. Second, seeing what it feels like to try something new can help you find your way. And third, having a supportive family means everything.