PA-C, ATC starting salary in orthopedics

I'm a current PA student that is considering pursuing an orthopedic role. I also have a masters degree in athletic training & sports medicine with five years experience as an athletic trainer. I'm curious as to how much I should be asking for when I start job searching and any input would be much appreciated.

Gary, MAT,ATC, LAT

I've been interviewing in NYC with basically the same credentials, ATC x 6 years, BS Sports Med, MA Exercise Physiology, BS Physician Assistant. When I interview with the PA and the Chairman of the Ortho Departments they are very pleased with my background, HR is firm that I have 0 years experience as a PA therefore am compensated as a new grad. While it has gotten me many interviews that none of my classmates have without any ortho background, all the hospitals here start new grads at the same salary. And in fact because ortho is many hours a week, the salary breakdown is even lower than positions in IM or ER. For Outpatient they may start you higher but I haven't had that experience.

Keep in mind this is NYC, not most of the country, where we have like 15 PA programs so lots of new grads. So for here, yes that is inflated but other parts of the country, idk depending on what benefits they offer you. For me, the unionized position was 4 days of 1st assist in ortho surgery and 1 day of ER consult/floor offered me $38/hr @ 50 hours a week, working out to about 99k for a 5 day x 10 hour shift position with 2 weeks of vacation. After 50 hours was time and a half. That is about 79k for a 40 hour week if you calculate by hour rates. Outpatient ortho clinic working with sports med, spine and reconstructive surgery patients was also 5 days a week, hours "8a-5ish" for 80-82k with no overtime since it was salaried, that is even lower at about $35-36/hr. They were an ortho group that recently became affiliated with a large teaching hospital, and contract was under the hospital.