Q&A about UND's PA program

Hello all,

I am currently a student at the UND PA program.  I am making this post to allow anyone interested in the program to ask questions you have about the selection process, pre-req's, HCE (healthcare experience), or anything related to the application/admissions and so forth.  Please feel free to ask any questions you may have.

-Parker

PA-S

Class of 2015

UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences

Physician Assistant Program

• 2 months later...

Hi OkieMed. I actually do have some questions. I have been a paramedic/ firefighter in Texas for 10 years and also worked as an anesthesia tech in surgery for three years. I have an interest in the UND program.

1) How competitive is the selection process?

2) How many students are in your graduating class?

3) Are you able to work during the 1st part of the program, before you start the clinicals?

4) Is it difficult to find your own precepting physician or physician assistant?

5) Do you have to have all the prerequisites finished before applying? I still need a medical terminology and pharmacology class and wonder if I can finish those while going through the application process.

• 2 weeks later...

Nebchad

-The selection process is just like any other program, it is competitive and also difficult at times.  You have to do a CASPA application as well as supplemental application also. 

-Right now we have 26 in our class, started with 28.

-You are able to work but it is highly advised not to work.  I worked but at times my home life suffered.  It is tough but it is also how well the support system is that can help you also.

-It can be difficult but also if you work in or around healthcare, befriend a doc who knows a family practicioner and that helps.

-You can be in the process of taking certain pre-req's but they have to be finished before you begin the program. 

Hope this helps some.

Question about HCE: