Chances of getting into PA school after receiving a WF in a nursing class?

To make a long story short, there is a high likelihood that I will be receiving either an F or a WF (probably the latter) in a nursing program course I'm currently taking. I won't have any problems finishing the other nursing course (which is worth fewer credits) with an A. I'm currently in my third semester of the nursing program. I originally received special permission to just take the first semester courses of the nursing program I'm in for the sake of earning HCE, and prior to that, I earned a B.S. in a different discipline with the goal of going to either PA or AA school. If there is one thing that nursing has revealed to me, it's that I really want to be a PA and not a nurse. I feel like it was a mistake to continue with taking additional nursing classes, and now I'm looking at a WF. I guess that at the time, I just figured, "Well, I'm already in a nursing program, so I guess I might as well continue on and become a nurse."

I'm going to file an academic appeal soon to hopefully have the WF converted to a WP, but if that doesn't happen, then will the WF absolutely destroy my chances of getting accepted to a PA program? Furthermore, even if I get the WF converted to a WP, will that still raise a prominent red flag? 

Thanks in advance for any advice offered.

Sorry to hear about your grade. If there is any way to turn it around, by all means do that. If not, take your lumps and move on.

I think far too many of us fall for the "one mistake and you're out" theory of life. Your application will contain more than a WP or a WF. Do well on what you have to take, get good recommendations and have good experience. And come across as a mature, focused, team player in your interviews. 

Good luck.