new job training

I'm a new grad and I interviewed with a holistic private practice in a wealthy area. They have not yet given me any specific numbers with regard to salary but they said I could start off as a medical assistant until my license came through?!?!??  Has anyone else dealt with this?  I've never heard of this before.  What's the typical deal when it comes to training for a new position?  Should I expect a regular PA salary or to start off at a lower rate?

I don't know... I don't think that sounds like a good idea.  It seems to me they would pay you as a medical assistant, treat you as a medical assistant, then when you get your PA license, the bar would already be set terribly low for you. I think if you are going to be in training, they should pay you as a PA in training for a percentage of what your actual PA salary will be when you are licensed.  And that should definitely be negotiated up front. 

Walk away from this.  You are a PA.  Not an MA.  And if you can get a Temp License in your state then you should be able to practice as a PA without rx'ing (in my state that is how it goes at least).  If you are training as a PA then you should be being paid as a PA.  If they want to lower the training salary as a result and then automatically increase it when you have your full license then that is fine but make sure it states CLEARLY in the contract that this is the case.