Exam room decor

I am a new grad starting a job at a rural FP clinic. I have the opportunity to decorate the exam rooms as I see fit. Originally, I was just going to hang a couple of pretty generic pictures in the rooms and call it good. However, the new NP in the office (also a new grad) just went out and spent several hundred dollars on pictures as well as wall art, cabinets, and even personalized light-switch covers. Am I missing something here?? Should I be putting more effort into this? Does the way the exam room is decorated really mean anything to the patients? Thanks for your opinions!

One could cast a hypothesis and consider that perhaps the NP's decision to warm the environment may stem from a more holistic approach to health care. Nurses often place great focus on how you feel overall as a person on a spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical level.

That, or they got a bunch of gift cards from a variety of places and needed to use them before they expire.

Your patients will know you are new..perhaps as an icebreaker you can ask your patients if they know any local artists in the area who's work may fit in with your clinic. This way you can show the community that you are going to put a bit of cash back in their local economy and the locals get to see one of their "own" have some recognition. Perhaps even take it as far as to offer your walls as a gallery of sorts but I'd just post contact info about the artist, not offer the works for sale. No need to be handling someone else's money. Artists post their stuff for free on your walls....they get some exposure for free, you get some art for free, they make some money, you get tuned into the local scene. Rotate it out every few months..I dunno. I'm just brainstorming.

Steve

I think most things hanging in an exam room should be educational -

hang nice posters about the risk of smoking, the dangers of colon cancer and other items like this.