Any of you scribes before PA school and what school did you go to?

Let me provide some framework for my answer. I have a PhD in physical chemistry and have been involved in the medical profession most of my career, much of it as a laser tech in my own laser rental business. My interest in the PA profession is that my daughter is now applying for admission to PA schools (mostly in Texas) and I spent the past year coaching her, more because its fun for me than because I am indispensible as her coach. She chose to get her health care experience as a scribe and called all of the Texas schools plus LSU to be sure her experience would be accepted. They all agreed that a scribe counted as HCE. I can also tell you that her scribe experience has been an incredible education. After one year, she has learned how to take a patient history and knows what tests to prescribe for any number of patient complaints or presentations. From the tests she can often arrive at the correct diagnosis and treatment plan, though that isn't her job. She sees both main ER and Fast Track patients everyday keeps all the MDs notes in the hospital's electronic records system and often relays information back to patients, nurses and hospitalists. I should add that she volunteers 4 hours per week at an understaffed clinic for the uninsured where her role is medical assistant/lab tech and anything else that needs to be done (not requiring a license of course.) She now has interviews at half the schools she applied to and, I believe, will end up with interviews at most all of them. I know there are many ways to get HCE. Some have more direct hands on contact like EMTs and physical therapists among many others, but if you choose to become a scribe you should not be at any disadvantage. If any school says they won't accept "scribe" as HCE, they probably don't know what scribes actually do. Good luck!

• 1 year later...