Any PA programs left that do not require prior direct patient experience?

I work in a non-health care related field and want to change careers. I have a masters degree in information techology and currently taking pre-req courses at the local community college. I've been looking at physcial therapy programs, physician assistant programs and nurse practionier programs as well as their corresponding pre-requisites to the program.

I would like to go the PA route instead of the NP route. I've been researching the 2 fields and getting into a direct-entry NP program is a bit of a joke....it's a bit TOO easy to get in terms have very few pre-req requirements and no shadowing requirements. In fact, there are more pre-reqs required for physcial therapy programs than direct entry NP programs (yet NPs on average get paid MUCH more than PTs...but I digress).

Are there any PA programs left that do not require direct patient experience or have a minimal require (i.e. 100 hours or less)? I work full time and I cannot quit my job to become a full time CNA or EMT in order to pay my mortgage and other monthly bills.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I guess I wonder how you know that medicine is the field for you if you've not spent any significant time learning that it is a good fit for you. Even for those programs with little to no HCE requirements, you would be a far more competitive applicant with time under your belt. And remember, there are no short cuts.

yup...and folks with just the min go to the bottom of the pile every time....

regarding 3 yr programs...I think that is where the profession is headed long term. the other alternative is a mandatory 1 yr residency. either way the experience level of the avg applicant is dropping like a stone compared to past yrs and people are taking notice. if you don't do the time up front you will need to add it on the back end...