New Grad. No Job.

Good Day Everyone, I hope you all are doing well.

I graduated in May 2013 from UTHSCSA then moved to Savannah, GA Shortly thereafter. I passed my PANCE July 2013. Prior to taking the PANCE, I wasn't fully committed to looking a job. I was merely "window shopping" acute care, ED, and primary care positions just to see what was out there while I studied for the board exam. My reasoning for not actively looking for employment is because of the fear of landing a job and then failing the PANCE. Now that I have passed the PANCE, I am more comfortable with a "guns blazing" approach to job search. My dilemma now is that over the past 3-4 weeks, I have submitted at least 15 CVs and/or applications for various primary care positions including a state HIV/STI Clinic position. I have only received one email informing me that an ER position I applied for had been filled.

I'm starting to feel discouraged and am now wondering if the blood, sweat, tears, and time away from my family in PA school was worth being unemployed now. I'm wondering if I have made a terrible mistake by telling some prospective employers that I am expecting with an EDC of 15 Feb 2014. I'm also wondering if no one is interested in me because I am "fresh meat". I want to call and follow up with my prospects, but I am afraid this will negatively affect my chances for an interview.

I am slowly giving up on the job market here. After our baby is born, I will resume my job search. If I am once again unsuccessful, I do plan to look for positions outside of the county of state in which we live. If I secure a position, I will have to move myself and the kids and leave my husband in Savannah. I don't really want it to come to this because I went through PA school without my husband and it was one of the most difficult and uncertain times of my life. I sincerely don't want to do that to my children again.