CASPA 2013-2014 Cycle

• Replies 132
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 4 weeks later...

Hi guys, as this year's application process continues please let me know if you have any questions regarding Mercy, applying, interviewing, etc. When I applied last year I spoke to several older students that were very helpful and I would like to reciprocate that help to the next year's class. If you have questions you can ask on the forum here or in an inbox, whichever you prefer. Just keep in mind that I am a current student and the work load is immense so it might take me a few days to answers any questions that you may have. Good luck! 

One quick response before I start studying for Pharmacology! 

The group interview was great. They split you up into groups of three and have two faculty interviewing all three of you together. They will rotate which one of you answers first so it is fair for everyone. Six questions total if I remember correctly. General questions, such as why Mercy, why PA, why not another medical profession. The best advice I can give for the interview is: (1) Dress professionally. Even though you are interviewing for a school, you should treat this like a serious job interview. If you don't dress professional you will have to overcome a first impression. (2) Be yourself and stay calm- answer the questions you would answer, not what you think they want to hear. (3) Know what a PA is. You will be surprised the amount of people interviewing who can't accurately describe what a PA is or does. One side note, don't be negative to other professions. I was asked why I applied to PA school and not to medical school, and I kept it to that I like the way a PA can laterally move. Turns out both faculty members interviewing me were MDs! Imagine if I had talked bad about medical school!