Cardiology New Grad Offer

I wanted to get some opinions on this job offer. I am a new grad living in Florida where cost of living is quite high. This job is with a cardiologist doing rounds in 3 different hospitals that are each about 10-15 miles apart starting at about 6:00am. Each hospital has about 5-10 patients, so a total of about 20-30 patients in the hospital. Then around 11:00am go to the office and see patients in office until 3-3:30pm. No call. 1 weekend a month consisting of rounds and holidays doing rounds.

The offer is for $80,000, health and malpractice completely covered. 2 weeks vacation, 1 week CME with money for courses and travel expenses. AAPA, state licensing, hospital privilege fees covered.

I tried to negotiate more vacation time and salary and the doctor said he would consider looking at it in 1 year to give me 3 weeks vacation and possibly a raise.

Wanted to see what others thought about this. I think its a solid offer for a new grad with room to improve as I prove myself to be a hardworking and knowledgeable PA. Thank you for your thoughts. I appreciate it.

Is 80K enough for your budget given the fact that it's an area with a high cost of living? I was offered 80K in NYC and after researching rent prices for a studio/1BR and speaking to friends who live there (and figuring out a budget) I realized it would've meant pretty much living paycheck to paycheck (something I wanted to avoid after being a "poor student" for years).