Confused Applicant

I work as a psych Tech in a rehab hospital now, and I'm HAPPY to go home at the end of the day.

As a result of my professional experiences, I possess no grand vision of myself as a provider other than a competent yet dissatisfied grunt who clocks in, does their job, and clocks out. I find my patient interactions to not be fulfilling, and I get tired of having demanding/institutionalized patients in my personal space 8 hours/day. All of the nurses/techs I work with vacillate on a spectrum ranging from apathetic to angry, with no one seeming to actually garner any pleasure from any portion of their job (and this assessment is accounting for all the units of this rehab hospital). Nobody seems to really care other than covering their a*s and getting to punch-out as easily as possible.

Many of you may read this and say "No sh*t dude, that's work." Or you may read it and see my experience is atypical, and it will get better.

Conversely, you may read it and see my dissatisfaction as being indidicative of someone who isn't fit for the field. I'm currently reconsidering my future in healthcare, and appreciate your insight.

Cheers

• Administrator

Assuming you have what it takes to get in and then to succeed, you have a world of choices as far as what specialty you practice in and where you go once you pass the PANCE. Primary care is, on the whole, quite fulfilling and has a variety of interactions with mostly not insane people.:-) If you just want to make a job out of it, there are plenty of clinician/technician positions where you get trained to do something medical, and do that something for good pay for your career.