To lie to your preceptor, or not to lie....

I hope my thread title gets attention but it's not what it looks like...

I am a second year student aiming at primary care as a career and currently in my first rotation which is surgery. I told my preceptor when I arrived that I am planning on primary care and may be regretting the decision to do so. I feel like my experience has been altered since my surgery PA preceptor now knows I don't want to work in a similar field. I feel like if he/she thought I wanted to be in their shoes they would teach more of the intricacies of the position and allow more hands on/ in depth training.

Would it behoove PA students to tell each preceptor they want to work in that specific field while they are there to gain a richer experience? If I tell my next preceptor I want to be an ED PA, will the 6 weeks be better and/or more intense than if I don't?

I see the flip side of the coin being that I can learn how primary care would interact/consult/refer to other specialties if the preceptor knows that's I where I plan to be. But I thought it was an interesting question to ask anyway. I just want to get the most out of each and every rotation.

Thanks for reading

THE best answer to that question is " I don't really know yet, I want to see which rotations I like best" except on the rotation that is in the specialty you want to spend the rest of your life in. that one you tell is your 1st choice. it was easy to figure out for my preceptors in em. I showed up 2 hrs early and stayed 2 hrs late every shift(seriously).

I treated every rotation as if I were seriously considering going into that field of medicine after my training. You might get more out of each rotation if you approach it this way. Even Ob/Gyn I approached w/ a bias, during it I was surprised how fascinating it all was and for a minute even considered it as a career.