Ortho trauma vs Sports Medicine as a PA-S/ATC?

I am a 1st year PA student who will soon begin my clinical rotations. I have a background as an athletic trainer (5 years) and have worked in the collegiate/high school/clinic setting and have a master's degree in sports medicine. We get 2 electives and I would like to do one of them in orthopedics, but I'm struggling with what setting would be best. Should I go "outside" of my sports medicine background and do orthopedic trauma or should I stick with sports medicine? I don't know a lot about ortho trauma (setting, hours, compensation, typical day), but thought it might be good to expand on my sports medicine ortho background and see other options.

Are there any ortho PA's or ortho PA/ATC's who have advice on ortho rotations? I'm not sure if I should use my connections (from my ATC background) and get a good experience with physicians who I know won't be hiring PA's, or if I should go with hospitals/groups where I don't have connections, but I know they employ PA's... I'm really struggling with how to get the best experience because I want my resume to reflect upon my passion for orthopedics.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated... :)

Any chance you can do both? Use the general ortho position as your surgical rotation and the ortho trauma as your elective? It sounds like you want to be working in ortho; if so, this is the best thing you could do. If this is not possible, then I'd choose the ortho trauma rotation. It's not something you'll get a tone of in general ortho, but you'll get some general ortho in the ortho trauma. If that makes sense. Plus, it's definitely expanding your abilities to work in ortho trauma. Nothing wrong with the general ortho clinic rotation; perhaps if you did pick this one you could open their eyes to the benefits of having a PA/ATC.

Andrew