Improving Healthcare for LGBT Communities

Uhhhh.. Sorry to be so behind the time.. LGBT healthcare disparities???

Gotta source?

Or do you mean increasing provider awareness of LGBT risk factors ( if any, other than receptive unprotected anal intercourse of oral anal contact)

I am not being a wise guy here, I truely am unaware of the veracity of your premise

Wtf!

How about answering a straightforward question.?

I am not a newbie here, and know when to, and not, " do my homework."

On second thought, don't answer the question. You just made it a non issue for me.

I think cbcsmurf was talking to the original poster, not you RC.

Guys, I have a question.

How can a PA improve the health disparities in the LGBT community?

Thanks!

Here are some facts:

http://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/topicsobjectives2020/overview.aspx?topicid=25

• LGBT youth are 2 to 3 times more likely to attempt suicide.14
  • LGBT youth are more likely to be homeless.15, 16, 17
  • Lesbians are less likely to get preventive services for cancer.18, 19
  • Gay men are at higher risk of HIV and other STDs, especially among communities of color.20
  • Lesbians and bisexual females are more likely to be overweight or obese.21
  • Transgender individuals have a high prevalence of HIV/STDs,22 victimization,23 mental health issues,24 and suicide25 and are less likely to have health insurance than heterosexual or LGB individuals.26
  • Elderly LGBT individuals face additional barriers to health because of isolation and a lack of social services and culturally competent providers.27
  • LGBT populations have the highest rates of tobacco,28, 29 alcohol,29, 30 and other drug use.29, 31, 32

Thanks for bringing the topic up, it's an important one for those of us who have entered the profession of caring for other human beings.