Job expectations of a new grad in family practice

For those out there working with new grads in family practice (or for those who have been new grads in family practice), what is the expectation of time to get up to speed?

My first job was a terrible fit for me -- thoracic surgery. It was bad from the get-go. I was there 6 months and then, thankfully, had found a job in family practice. I was really excited.

I started this new job at the beginning of June. I kept telling my SP that I am new to family practice, having had only one 2-month rotation. He kept saying, "You're smart, you'll catch on quickly." So, he gave me my own schedule off the bat and when I'm not busy, I am with him or other physicians. Generally I'm there with at least one other doc or sometimes the PA who's been there 7 years.

This month has been very trying. Some days are good days where I pretty much know what to do for patients. Then other days are not good days...like today. He called me tonight and said that he's going to back off my schedule because it's obvious that I'm uncomfortable and have a lot to learn, but that I'm motivated and intelligent and he's not worried about me learning it. Most of the time, I will be with other physicians acting in the role of a student for the most part. It was a relief, but at the same time, I feel so dumb.

Having it happen this ways makes me feel completely inept. I am overwhelmed. I knew that I wasn't ready to see my own patients, especially when they book them every 15 minutes. I tried to communicate that. I'm not sure what to do. I'm really down on myself and my confidence is shaken.

So, I want to know: What is an appropriate time frame to build up your skills and knowledge to successfully treat patients on your own? Or at least 90% of patients? I study at night and write important stuff down. Not sure how else to get better other than seeing patients and discussing them with the docs/PA.

Thanks,

Sheryl