Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'nontraditional'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Professional Physician Assistant
    • Professional PA General Discussion
    • Medical Billing & Coding
    • Specialties
    • Military
    • State Specific Discussion
    • Physician Assistant Residency
    • Physician Assistant Owned Practice
    • Contracts, Negotiations & Malpractice
    • Physician Assistant Doctorate
  • International Physician Assistant Forum
    • International Physician Assistant
    • International Physician Assistant Schools
  • Physician Assistant Student Forums
  • Pre-PA

Categories

  • PA Profession
  • Medical
  • PANCE/PANRE Review
  • Pre-PA
  • Other

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Profession

Found 4 results

  1. Hello. My senior year in college I had no idea what I wanted to do when I graduated, so I went to law school. I am now thirty-one years old and have been a divorce attorney for the past six plus years. I hate every second of it. I have always regretted not going to medical school instead, but at this point I already have too much debt to take on a residency. So I have been contemplating applying for PA school. I think I could take Anatomy/Physiology I&II, Biology, Chemistry I&II, and Microbiology this spring and summer at the local community college. Unfortunately, I would not be able to take Organic Chemistry until the fall. My only "direct patient contact" has been working as a pharmacy technician for a year while I was in college (2004-2005). That was about 750+ hours, but it was a long time ago. So I am not sure if that would count. While I am enrolled in the prerequisite classes, I think I am going to accept a job working only part-time as a legal aid attorney. So maybe that will reflect well. Additionally, a family friend is a PA and runs a practice dedicated to underprivileged members of the LGBTQ community, so I am going to ask him if I can volunteer there and shadow him. Do you think it is worth it for me to quit my current job with the hopes of being accepted into a PA program? I do not know what the admissions board will think of my nontraditional background. Additionally, my college GPA was like a 3.01 (too much partying). The LSAC (which is CASPA but for law school) calculated it for law school admissions as a 2.98. However, I graduated with honors from law school with a 3.46 and expect to get all A's in the prerequisites. I have never taken the GRE's, but got a 1460 on the SAT's (out of 1600), 172 on LSAT (top 1.5%), and top 5% of PA exam bar takers. But I am worried because it has been over five years since I have had to study or take a test! DeSales is my first choice and Penn State is my second. Thank you!
  2. Hey Everyone, Here's a brief look at my stats • Education overview - I have a bachelor's degree in music (jazz studies) (GPA was 2.78, and had a few Fs and Ds) - I did my PA school prerequisites after my undergrad as an independent study, non-degree (GPA 3.86) - I then got a Master's degree in Biomedical Science (GPA 3.77) • Here are the stats that show up on my application: - Overall GPA: 3.21 - BCP GPA: 3.86 - Last 100 credits: 3.83 - GRE: * Verbal: 155 (68%) * Quant: 152 (47%) * Writing: 4.0 (59%) - HCE: 7,100+ hours as an ICU tech, progressive care/tele CNA, surgical/trauma CNA, internal medicine MA - Volunteer hours: 72hrs (48 in healthcare) - LOR's from: PA, MD, PhD (professor), hospital floor manager (RN), ICU charge nurse (RN) Where do you think I should apply with a nontradional (music) background and improved GPA? Also, I am currently waitlisted at Pace University for the class of 2019, but still need to get my apps out for another round in-case I don't get in, and will be re-applying to Pace. Thanks in advance for your help!
  3. I'd be interested to hear and discuss what sort of nontraditional or outside-the-box jobs/gigs folks have done or just know about. EM:RAP did a segment on an MMA fight doctor (ring-side physician) that sounded really interesting except fighting isn't quite up my ally. I've got a few years of EM under my belt and would be interested in hearing other ideas along these lines-- ways to use clinical skills outside of work as a PRN gig. Thanks!
  4. So lately I have been doing some number crunching and I am trying to figure out what a safe amount of $$ will be for everything except tuition...... Assuming rent is ~1,200 a month, I am looking at 36K alone in rent after 30 months....What do current students think would be a safe number for other related living costs such as food/gas/cable/electricity ect... for the entire 30 months? 36K for rent + ___________ ORC = Total loan amount without tuition for 30 months.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to the Physician Assistant Forum! This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn More