Help! Tips and suggestions for starting new grad ER Job???

Hi everyone,

I am a recent new grad who got offered a job in the ED. Currently, I'm waiting for hospital credentialing to be completed before I can officially start in September. I have volunteered to shadow with the ED medical director (who is also my supervising physician) for this month so I can get a good jump start. I feel like I know NOTHING compared to what I've been seeing. It's so scary and intimidating and I'm not sure what should be the best way for me to prepare for this intense job!? I did 2 ER rotations and an urgent care rotation during PA school, but I haven't touched a patient since April and I feel like I lost some of the things I learned. Any tips on how to bring myself up to speed as quick as possible? I worry about making myself look like a fool (which I already anticipate)...or worse, having the doc raise doubts about my ability to do ER! :sweat: I love emergency medicine which is why I went into this field straight out of school...I just need some great advice and helpful tips from you great EM PAs out there! Any input GREATLY appreciated :smile:...Thank you!

I worry about making myself look like a fool

In my humble opinion, being afraid to look foolish when learning a new skill, especially a critical skill-set such as Emergency Medicine is the worst mind-set you can have.

Instead of admitting that you’re a complete novice and will not have much of a knowledge base but is willing to do everything it takes to learn, you are worried how you look. As such, you will tend not to be open to asking, checking and re-checking. Instead, you will have an internal dialog that your ego is in control of, “of course I know that, Im a PA.”