HCE advice needed

Hi,

I've been working toward becoming a PA for years now, and faced a ton a setbacks. First, setback #1: I have a Bachelor degree in Fine Art, so I had to take a lot of classes. I have taken cell bio, A&P, chemistry, microbiology, medical terminology and pathophysiology all with a 3.9 GPA. The next step was to get the necessary health care experience, so I left my well paid management job for a position as a Physical Therapy Aide. I got seven months experience working with patients, then the clinic had to lay people off due to some bad financial decisions - I was one of them. So, setback #2: I had to take whatever job I could get, and since most of my experience was in retail I had to go back to that. Now, I'm faced with figuring out another way to get HCE. I was thinking of volunteering? Or should I take out more loans go back to school and become a medical assistant? I've already devoted years trying to be a strong applicant and was hoping for advice on what to do without quitting my job and being in a financial mess to get more HCE. I would greatly appreciate any advice.

sounds like you have a good start on your quest to become a pa.

if you can't find other pt asst. positions you might look at emt-basic and cna training. both are cheap, short and have flexible training programs so you could do them around a work schedule. don't take out more loans.

if you already have 1000 hrs of work experience as a pta there are several programs you could apply for without getting more hce.

good luck.

Agree with EMEDPA - there are programs who would consider you presently. As he said, EMT-Basic or CNA training is a good way to get the HCE you need. I am a proponent of EMT training over CNA training if you have the option, but both will get you set up. Your science GPA is solid, your prior life experience will be invaluable as well. I think you will be a good candidate, maybe even now. Keep getting the experience and see what's out there.

Andrew