Failed PANRE miserably

I recently took the PANRE for the 3rd time in my 18 yr career. I have passed the 1st 2 easily. This year is the 1st time I studied for it. I took the test on a Friday and felt fairly confident. I got my results back early the following Monday as FAILED with a score of 207. 379 to pass. 200 is the lowest recorded score ever. Chance alone would score higher than 200. My score was 160pts BELOW the bottom 1%. Also, my content breakdown in no way reflects my skill set. I have worked in Ortho my entire career and scored 17 SD pts BELOW avg. I scored 23 SD pts ABOVE avg. in hematology an area I have NO exprience, interest or understanding and I did not even study this area. I have contacted NCCPA and I am getting NO loving from them. I believe something is amiss. I can accept it if I failed but not to this degree. i am not the smartest PA in the world but I am not the dumbest. Anyone ever had any similar problems with there test scores?

I am starting to wander why I want to be Certified anyway.

• Replies 300
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry to hear about your score. you'll get it next time. You can bypass it and just go PA without the C. A friend of mine who has been a PA for 30 years, let his C go a few years ago and then he retook the PANCE a few months ago and got his C back. He has been at the same job for 20 years so he didn't feel the need to renew his C. Anyway hang in there!

State specific...

As you know... some states won't grant you a license without the "C"... atleast for the "initial" license in that state.

Some states have much more onerous and restrictive practice rules in place for those without the "C."