PA-C and Echo Tech combo

Hey everyone!

I start PA school this July (woohooo!!). I have been an echo tech for the last three years and feel I have a decent knowledge base in cardiology. My goal is to continue to work in cardiology once I complete PA school. Does anyone know if I can still use my echo skills as a PA? I am going to stay certified and try my best to keep up my skills and CME credits throughout school. I am so excited to begin my PA training!

Thanks!

I feel ultrasound is as big of advancement in medicine as the stethoscope was. It is the future. You will use your echo ability a million times a day...reading the scans performed by others. That being said, the hospitalist I rotated with loved to do echos on his admitted patients and he would do them himself at the bedside. Outside of cardiology practice, your talent could be a boon to aggressive patient are...not having to wait for a cards consult or echo to be performed on a sick CHFr or funky pediatric murmur.

Employers/supervising physicians may prefer to see more of a role transition if you stay within the cardiology world. It takes time to perform them...time you could be seeing clinic patients, generating revenue and moving volume. Look at your current job of doing echos...you worked hard to gain that knowledge. Would you, as a tech, want or appreciate a provider coming along and saying "thank you but we don't require your services any longer, I will be doing my own"?

Not saying you won't be doing echos....I am wicked jealous of your skill set, there have been many times I wish I could pick up a transducer and check some stuff out after a cardiac exam. You may find your niche out there. Just don't forgo a really good clinician position based on the available time to keep doing echo studies.