National Guard for PA's

Hi all,

I'm currently a PA student and will be starting rotations in just a couple months. A few weeks back, I spoke with a National Guard recruiter about potential loan-repayment options serving as a reserve. From what I gathered from him, as a PA reserve, we are eligible for 75K paid at 25K per year over 3 years duration. After that up to 60K (20K per year over 3 years) will be paid. All of this totals a 6 year contract. I was also informed that our commitment would be the initial officer training (roughly 1 month), 1 weekend per month working at a clinic (where? Doing what? I really have no idea, but apparently will be compensated with additional pay during this time), and 2 weeks during the summer for additional training. I was told that there will be a maximum of ONE deployment per 6 year contract with a maximum of 180 days per the one deployment. If anybody has any additional information or at least would like to validate what I've been told, any help would be greatly appreciated.

I realize that many current and prior military remembers will be asking me the initial question of what my motivation is to join. Yes, it is not all about the money. I would not mind serving my country, and I do expect to be deployed. That is OK with me. However, being a reserve grants me the opportunity to work full-time in another PA field. Right now, I'm leaning towards Emergency Medicine and desire to complete a residency after graduation. Factoring in signing a National Guard contract, I am uncertain when to complete my residency and when would be the most appropriate and logical time to sign that contract.

I appreciate ANY advice. Thanks!

if you are in the military you have the option of completing one of their residency programs.