PANRE rant and review with Lange Q&A

Hey everyone!

I am studying for my PANRE and am seriously annoyed with this process. I have taken weeks off work(thousands of $$), spent over a thousand dollars on a review course(CME resources) plus a couple hundred on books, time away from family etc. This is such BS. All my friends(veteran PA's in family med) who I've spoken to have said the PANRE is ridiculously difficult and no studying will help. One of them recently failed and was his 4th time taking it in his career with no issues in the past. As a result he lost his job and now has no income with 3 kids! WHAT IS THE POINT OF ALL OF THIS!?? I'm worried sick, can't sleep out of anxiousness, stopped working out because I feel I need to constantly study etc. I'm not sure why we put up with this? As far as I can tell we are the only medical profession that has to re-certify every 6 years. Furthermore, from what I can tell, the NCCPA is nothing more than a private entity that created testing standards and for some reason hospitals, insurance companies, and state regulating agencies latched on to their "credentials" as a requirement. Why? What am I missing? Why isn't AAPA getting involved and making this process less stressful? Why aren't they lobbying with state officials and hospitals so that we can practice without the "C?" I realize some states don't require a PA to be "certified," but every hospital, and insurance company does require it(not to mention the state I'm in). Needless to say I'm not renewing my AAPA membership. Why aren't we as a professional body standing up to the NCCPA? All the years of schooling and hard work we have invested are being threatened and dictated by some independently owned company? Am I the only one outraged by this stressful process? I should have become been a NP, they don't have to deal with this!

Ok sorry that's my rant.... Now my question