Canadian friendly PA schools

I'm in my second year now and have a gpa of ~3.5. My plan is to finish my 4 years of my BSc in Biology and then go for a short program (like resp therapy) to gain experience working in healthcare. Am I competitive for US PA schools? Also, can anyone here recommend Canadian friendly schools I can apply to?

• Administrator

I don't think there is such a thing as a Canadian-unfriendly PA school. Getting loans as a non-US citizen is the biggest hurdle, I expect. I would also expect schools in northern states would have more experience with Canadians, and not try and make you take the TOEFL unless you're from Quebec. ;-)

I'm in my second year now and have a gpa of ~3.5. My plan is to finish my 4 years of my BSc in Biology and then go for a short program (like resp therapy) to gain experience working in healthcare. Am I competitive for US PA schools? Also, can anyone here recommend Canadian friendly schools I can apply to?

i was under the impression that RT was a two year program. Solid education and experience but not as short as some other choices available. Is the school not two years?

i was under the impression that RT was a two year program. Solid education and experience but not as short as some other choices available. Is the school not two years?

All the RT programs I know (n=4) are 2 years...with a bio BS you could probably knock a semester off that, but not much more.

If you really want to go the RT route, get your AAS in RT first, then get your BS after that. There are plenty of schools that have pre-set tracks for this...plus you can work part time as an RT while you're finishing your BS.

I don't think there is such a thing as a Canadian-unfriendly PA school. Getting loans as a non-US citizen is the biggest hurdle, I expect. I would also expect schools in northern states would have more experience with Canadians, and not try and make you take the TOEFL unless you're from Quebec. ;-)