Nephrology?

Guest kelmo14

Guest kelmo14

Hey everyone!

I am currently a PA student in Naples, FL. I am interested in becoming a nephrology PA. Although, I never see any openings for any in this field. I always see Urology but never Nephrology. I hope that PA's in Nephrology will become more common because this is where my interest lies. Please let me know if you have any information. Thanks!

~Kellie

Hey everyone!

I am currently a PA student in Naples, FL. I am interested in becoming a nephrology PA. Although, I never see any openings for any in this field. I always see Urology but never Nephrology. I hope that PA's in Nephrology will become more common because this is where my interest lies. Please let me know if you have any information. Thanks!

~Kellie

i think the renal transplant team utilizes a PA at OHSU in portland, or. i do believe that a nephrology group at OHSU also has a PA.

good luck!

Hey everyone!

~Kellie

I worked for a nephrologist in Marquette, Michigan. He had two PAs. Myself in his outpatient clinic and another PA (who had been there for years) in the dialysis unit. Right now I have a local nephrologist who has asked me to come and work for him. My only hesitation is that he travels to a different location each day of the week (each of the five towns is about 30 miles apart) and the PA would do the same. So, nephrology PAs are out there.

jmj

• 1 month later...

Contact the AANPA (American Academy of Nephrology PA's). You can join for free if they still have the grant from Genzyme. The other thing to do is go to your local hospitals and arrange to shadow a nephrologist. From there, all you need to do is sell yourself. I believe one of the Nephrology associations is planning on developing a Nephrology training program online that would give you a certificate at the end. Again, contact the AANPA

http://www.aanpa.org/

• 3 years later...
  • 3 weeks later...