I interviewed yesterday and received a call today saying I was accepted. The reason for this post is not to gloat but rather to provide hope.

This was my 3rd year applying to PA schools and 2nd year applying to Loma Linda. As an undergrad I had a 2.8 GPA in Econ from UCSD. Over the past 4 years I have taken 70 units postgrad, all of them pre-reqs for PA school and have a 4.0 GPA. However, my overall GPA is still only a 3.2. While taking these classes I have also worked full-time as an EMT and this past year I recently started working as a scribe part-time. I also have been volunteering at Loma Linda in the Peds Oncology ward.

My point is, even if you had a crummy GPA there is still hope for you. If you truly want to be a PA don't be discouraged if it takes you multiple attempts to get in. Just keep imrpoving your resume year after year. And if you are re-taking classes or taking more classes to bump up your GPA make sure you get all A's. You want to be able to go and show them "I wasn't as serious about my grades when I was a naive frsehman and sophmore in college but now that I know that I want to be a PA I have a 4.0 GPA in all of my postgrad classes."

I look forward to hearing from the rest of you who have gotten into the program.

Also, feel free to pm me if you have any questions about the pre-PA process.

Good luck to everyone.

I interviewed with Ghina Kartib and David Lopez. Both of them were very nice and put me at ease. Last year I interviewed with Benny Hau and he is tough, but not unreasonably tough. His goal is to question your responses and try to get you to fumble a bit. He wants to see how you respond to a little pressure. Just stay calm and realize that he does it to everyone and you'll be fine.