Looking At Post Grad Programs

Hi Folks,

I am new to this site, but I will make this short...

I have been practicing in the capacity of an orthopedic PA for almost three years since my graduation from PA school. I found out that I really like ortho, who knew??? Anyway, I want to become better and learn more. My contract will be ending in another seven months. I am strongly interested in doing a residency program that will help my skills and knowledge about ortho, but may also give me somewhat of a peek at some other specialties to make sure ortho is really where I want to be. Some of the programs deadlines are coming up at the end of this year. I will continue reading all the post in this section, however any advice or any info at all about applying, what to look for, or how to break this news to my current attending would be most appreciated. In particular I am interested in the WakeMed residency in North Carolina. Thanks in advance.

Just be straightforward. Tell your SP that you're interested in a Ortho residency and ask him what he knows about them. He'll automatically know that you're probably not going to be renewing your contract and probably want to you to help train a new PA. That would be an excellent way for you to exit. I know Illinois also has an Ortho residency in Peoria. Good luck.

WakeMed has a fantastic program and very impressive facilities. I interviewed there this year but turned down the offer due to the fact that they added 3 months of ortho surgery (I was interested in the critical care and trauma part) but for you that would be great! It's broken down into 3 months critical care, 3 months trauma, 3 general surgery, and 3 ortho surgery. So you would definitely get a mix. All of the faculty members were extremely nice and very willing to teach. The current PA residents were very happy they chose that residency. I would highly recommend it from what I saw when interviewing.