My experience in a Surgical Residency

I received my surgical training from a medical center that offered a Surgical Residency (I graduated about 1 years ago). It's a fairly young program, < 5 years old and only 3 people had graduated from that program thus far (should be a hint for those thinking about joining this program).

Do i regret doing it? Heck yea. Why? Like the other blogger Maniaic had said, the problem with these programs are lack of OR time. that was my problem. No OR time = plenty of floor and clinic work. They would assign you OR cases that other residents have nooooooo interest of doing. So it's not completely no OR time, but it's cases nobody wants to do. So lets say a pa resident wants to first assist in a simple appendectomy, they would say "no, we have to give it to our MD residents, they need this type of training more, we'll assign you to this carpal tunnel case instead (even though you've done 100 of them already)" Fair??? no...

I have never assisted in any basic general surgery cases since i was there. very frustrating. Bottom line, if i had the choice of doing perhaps another organized program or even do OTJT, i'd rather do those than do this residency again. I thought about quitting, but I didn't want to be a quitter.

So for those that wants to do a surgical residency, PLEASE, join a program that has been well established (aka been around for years and has a good reputation ie: Yale or Monte Fiore hospital, even Einstein). When you interview for a small hospital with post graduate residency, beware because no matter how promising, in the end you'll regret it.

I attended montefiore. While there are OR opportunities, there are MD residents there and the same competition issues, and if you are in that setting you will always have that problem.