Treatment of PA's

They pulled the license of a friend of mine for "non-payment of fees" despite the fact that he had the canceled check that they had already cashed and lost record of. he had to take a day off work to bring in the original canceled check. they wouldn't accept a fax and even when they were obviously proven wrong they didn't apologize. they said" well I guess you can go back to work then".

WA is much friendlier and is definitely a top 5 pa state.

I've heard a pretty mixed bag (I'm just a student myself though). The PA's I've met in specialty and Family Med seem pretty happy, they seem fairly well compensated, though I think we might rank a bit lower than WA on the scale.

Like EMED says, it's a pretty NP-dominated world in some areas (Willamette Valley, Oregon Coast come to mind). Certain health groups like Legacy seem to be more friendly than say, Providence. OHSU has a quite a few specialty and outpatient PAs, but none in the ED or on hospitalist service. I think it really depends on the hospital admins, from what I'm told.

Myself, I'm hoping to find work up in WA. Better pay, better PA society and PA laws.

Edited by VictoriaO
grammatical

I've heard a pretty mixed bag (I'm just a student myself though). The PA's I've met in specialty and Family Med seem pretty happy, they seem fairly well compensated, though I think we might rank a bit lower than WA on the scale.

Like EMED says, it's a pretty NP-dominated world in some areas (Willamette Valley, Oregon Coast come to mind). Certain health groups like Legacy seem to be more friendly than say, Providence. OHSU has a quite a few specialty and outpatient PAs, but none in the ED or on hospitalist service. I think it really depends on the hospital admins, from what I'm told.

Myself, I'm hoping to find work up in WA. Better pay, better PA society and PA laws.