1st year as a PA-C... reactions/thoughts/advice wanted from your experience

I’m 6 months into my first year out of PA school of being a PA-C in a Family Practice. I want to get some advice and reactions to the first year experience.

I’ve generally found the first year to be much harder than expected. I still feel there is so much to learn, and that most days are stressful. I believe the misconceptions that I had about the first year came from being treated in school that we would be able to treat anything that came our way right out of school. I still don’t feel comfortable dosing insulin, for example, and patients with multiple comorbidities and many medications can also be very tricky to manage obviously.

The office I’m in has never had a PA before, so I believe they realized that since I’m a new graduate, I should be seeing more acute visits rather than also trying to manage patients with chronic illnesses. The practice has tailored my schedule to be used more like what would be seen in Urgent Care, which has definitely made my days more manageable for me at this stage of the game.

The practice that I’m in has 3 doctors, all of which are helpful to me when I have questions about treating patients. I feel that I’m having to ask questions regularly, although it does seem to be getting a little less frequently, and varies day by day. They seem to appreciate the job that I’m doing, but since none of them have worked with a PA before, they may have been thinking that I would need less help on a day to day basis. On top of all of this, we are going through conversion to electronic medical records, that is posing a challenge itself.