interested in applying to Western PA Program

Hi :)

I am currently studying to apply to Western University's PA program. I am going to transfer to CSUN in Fall to get my bachelors degree is Sociology and I am also taking the classes required to apply to the PA program. I am also shadowing 2 PA's in different fields to gain experience.

I need advice about what more I can do to make my application competitive?? What extra classes or programs can I join? Is shadowing enough?

I will greatly appreciate your responses :)

WesternU definitely values a history of volunteering... not necessarily just in the healthcare industry... but in general. I would suggest getting involved in your community/college on campus with any volunteer opportunities possible. If you can get into a leadership spot even better. I volunteered for a few years as a small group leader at a local high school ministry. My university also offered medical service trips to Mexico which I was fortunate enough to take part in. These experiences matured me as a person and I believe really bolstered my application when it came to Western. The class GPA is also getting higher and higher each year.... so make sure you give your science classes the respect they deserve so you don't end up regretting it later!! :)

And not to knock sociology as a major at all... I happened to love the couple of soc classes I had to take! I know that some people get a non-science major alongside taking the prereq's... But with Micro and Genetics being required... I'm pretty sure to get into those two classes you would need a full year of Gen Bio? So those 4 classes add up to 16 units alone... plus the full year of Gen Chem required... that's another 8 units at least. Throw in 8 more units for Phys and Anatomy... that's a total of 32 units needed outside of your major!! That's a lot considering you can really only fit so many lab science classes in per semester. Just something to think about in your planning.