Anyone know any PA's working on an H-1 Visa (Worker Visa) ?

Hi,

I am an international student who is accepted at both PA school and Med School. I am hearing several cases of doctors working on H-1 Worker Visas, yet I have never heard of any PAs on these visas. I am much more inclined to pursue PA school honestly, although how likely would it be for a non-US citizen or resident to find a job in the US that sponsors an H-1 Visa. If you know someone on such a visa, or had been employed on this visa in the past, I would really be grateful if you could help me out in figuring this out or help me in contacting them. Once again thanks for your help.

Hi,

...although how likely would it be for a non-US citizen or resident to find a job in the US that sponsors an H-1 Visa.

That would depend on where you are trained. In order to practice in the US, you must attend PA school in the US to qualify for the PANCE. Attending in England, Australia, etc. won't qualify for the PANCE.

That would depend on where you are trained. In order to practice in the US, you must attend PA school in the US to qualify for the PANCE. Attending in England, Australia, etc. won't qualify for the PANCE.

Sorry for the confusion, although I would be attending PA school in the US. I'm an international student based on citizenship, although, I live in US and would attend PA school here.

-Thanks.

Even if you live and attend school in the US, I think you will be hard pressed to find an employer who will sponsor you for an H-1. It may still be possible, but you're going to have to convince an employer that you are truly exemplary and worth their effort and $ to sponsor you. They may even ask you to cover the costs. And if you change jobs I think you have to apply again because the visa is employer specific. It's a lot of headache.