I need help.

Hello,

I am in my last semester for didactic at PA school and it has been a struggle. Before I came to PA school, I was dealing with major family problems. I entered in PA school dealing with them and they slowly resolved themselves. While I was in school and currently, I sit next to a girl who consistently looks at my grades and computer whenever I take a test or notes. It makes me so anxious and self conscious. She isn't the nicest girl in the class and is extremely competitive. It has added tremendously to my stress. I have talked to my advisors but they told me that I need to change my seat. Well, no one wants to change with me. So I bought a security screen, so she can't see my stuff now but she is still attempting to.

On top of this, my family stuff has come back to the surface again. I have 8 weeks left until clinicals and I am crying everyday. I am constantly anxious and over sensitive to what people say to me. I am a mess. I know that I need to be on some anti-anxiety but I am not sure how to go about asking for this or doing it. I have been to counseling first semester for the same reasons but they just are not resolving. Any advice? I just want to survive these next 8 weeks without blowing grades. And I want to stop crying. 

Thank you in advance,

-Brittany.

Brittany,

I'm sure there is more to this than I can fathom from your note. You've been with these people for a whole year; they know you and you know them. If no one will change seats with you, you are going to have to pay no attention to the nut job who is looking at you taking notes! You are going to be in stressful situations in your life and you will overcome them too. No one can steal your dignity without your permission; don't grant it.

As far as your family stuff goes, you're going to have to deal with that too -- hopefully in 8 weeks if you can. You may very well need some help; your school's counseling center may be a help to link you up with someone locally.