help with billing!

Hello,

I just joined an otolaryngology practice and I am their first PA.  I have been in practice for 9 years, but, embarrassingly enough, I have limited knowledge of billing. My previous ortho practice did not share any information about billing and basically, all of my dictations had to say "I am dictating as a scribe on behalf of Dr. Soandso."    I had minimal autonomy and had no access to any collections and never had my own clinic.  My experience prior to that was working in the ED for a large public university and we never really talked about collections or billing.   With this new practice, I will be in clinic (eventually my own clinic time without a physician in the same locale) and I will spend some time first assisting in the OR. The practice is essentially asking how to bill for me, as they have never had a PA.  I know the reimbursement is usually 85% for a PA from Medicare and a lot of other carriers.  I also know that a lot of practices bill under a physician's name to get the full 100%  (incident-to).  I will be seeing a mix of new and established patients in clinic, doing a fair amount of procedures, etc.  Obviously, the practice wants to make as much money as possible and are asking me specifics on Incident-to, etc. I have read a lot about it and it sounds pretty complicated and specific.  Are there any other ways to bill under a physician other than incident-to?  I feel it just may be best, to avoid confusion and error, to just bill under my own name for most things....unless I specifically have a doc come in and examine the patient with me.  Is this typical or do a lot of PAs still bill under a physician's name?  A friend of mine who works in pediatrics just told me that her practice bills under the physician's name for her patients almost exclusively....but I don't really see how that is possible when she is in a separate local from her supervising physician.  Am I missing something?