Hi all!

Congrats to everyone who was accepted this cycle!!! I received my acceptance in February and have been ecstatic since. Then I remembered that I need to pay for this somehow, loans or scholarship.

I am married and have three children under 5, and my wife stays at home, so it is looking like lots of loans or (fingers crossed/praying) NHSC scholarship. I just finished my NHSC scholarship application and submitted yesterday! 

Anyone else apply for the NHSC scholarship?

I know it will be a while before we hear anything, but hopefully we can keep each other updated on our status changes for encouragement. 

Good luck to everyone!

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 3 weeks later...

Good luck to everyone  who is applying this year. I am not an expert but from what I have seen from the forums and from my friends who have received the scholarship, NHSC will do a credit check sometime toward the beginning of June through July. I am not sure if there is just one or possibly more dates that they check credit scores. Your credit report may not show NHSC but you will still notice that someone checked your credit.  You can verify that it was the NHSC by contacting the credit agency.  I am NOT a scholar but am applying a second time.  Having your credit checked does not guarantee anything but it means you are being considered still.  It's a good sign but again, no guarantee. NHSC used to do interviews but no longer does anymore.  In the coming weeks, please share if your credit is checked so we can also check ours! 

Also, the following link is useful because it shows previous years required HPSA score upon graduation.  Lower the number = more desirable jobs. This is just for those who are curious.   

https://nhsc.hrsa.gov/currentmembers/scholars/fromtrainingtopractice/index.html

• 2 weeks later...

I checked my credit karma today and saw that CREDCO checked my credit yesterday!