California licensing question

Hey guys, 

I'm a new grad, and am scheduled to start my first job on May 1st. The first little while will just be orientation etc until I take the PANCE on May 16th. Can someone tell me what the timeline for licensing will be for me? Do I have to wait until I get my PANCE results before I can start the licensing process? Is it the same for DEA/NPI? Or can I start making headway before I take the test?

All advice and help is appreciated!

NPI and licensing process you should start before taking the PANCE. I would get on it as soon as possible because there is a lot of information to gather (background checks, fingerprinting, prior certifications, etc). The sooner you submit a completed package the better because they will tell you if your are missing any information. Then once you pass they will send your passing score to CA boards and you get your license.

DEA has to wait until after your get your license if I remember correctly

Start the process,  paperwork, fingerprints, etc.  You should be able to submit all of your paperwork completed (and licensing fees paid) before you take PANCE;  then when you get your PANCE results you can request that the result (e.g., "pass") be forwarded to the state licensing board.  This is what I did, and I was licensed in about a week after I got my PANCE results.  Take your schedule II course as soon as possible too.

I just became licensed in January. I agree with the above post, but will just clarify that you can submit all paperwork for your California state license before taking the PANCE. After getting your California license, you can apply for your NPI and DEA number. The California Controlled Substance Course is not required to practice, but I took after getting my DEA number because it removes patient specific approval to prescribe controlled substances. More important in outpatient and office work.