Small Victories...

• Administrator

I sent the following letter to the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife on March 17th:

Dear WDFW legal counsel:

I am a physician assistant (my license number) licensed to practice medicine in Washington State.  Completing paperwork on behalf of my patients is a substantial part of my regular duties in both family and occupational medicine.  In the scope of my practice, I attest to current worker disability status for the Department of Labor and Industries, certify data on deceased Washington residents for the Department of Health’s Electronic Death Reporting System (the modern equivalent of ‘signing a death certificate’), and attest to disability status for disabled parking permits for the Department of Licensing.

All of these other departments comply with both the spirit and letter of the RCW governing physician assistant practice, specifically the clause on documentation completion, RCW 18.71A.090, which states:

"A physician assistant may sign and attest to any certificates, cards, forms, or other required documentation that the physician assistant's supervising physician or physician group may sign, provided that it is within the physician assistant's scope of practice and is consistent with the terms of the physician assistant's practice arrangement plan as required by this chapter."

I note specifically the legislative intent from 2007, as documented on that web page: 

"The legislature finds that some state agencies and departments do not accept the signature of physician assistants on certain certificates, reports, and other documents that their supervising physician is permitted to sign, notwithstanding the fact that the signing of such documents is within the physician assistant's scope of practice, covered under their practice arrangement plan, and permitted pursuant to WAC 246-918-140.